Copay Accumulators: Why Your GLP-1 Savings Card Might Stop Working
If your GLP-1 copay jumped partway through the year even though you use a manufacturer savings card, there are two usual suspects: the card hit its annual cap, or your plan runs a copay accumulator that lets the card pay the pharmacy but does not count those dollars toward your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum. A third design, often called a maximizer, ties your cost share to the manufacturer help available and can make you ineligible for some manufacturer cards altogether. Open enrollment for 2027 is the time to find this language in your plan documents.
Key takeaways
- 2026 GLP-1 savings cards have annual limits: $1,300 per calendar year for Lilly's covered Zepbound pen card and $1,950 for Mounjaro. Once you hit the cap, you pay your plan's full cost share.
- Under an accumulator, card payments do not reduce your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum, so you can face the full deductible after the card runs out.
- Lilly's card terms say patients whose plans tie coverage or cost sharing to the availability of manufacturer help are not eligible for the card.
- A federal court vacated the 2021 federal rule that let plans decide whether to count copay assistance. HHS has said it will use enforcement discretion until it writes a new rule.
- About two dozen states restrict accumulators, but those laws reach state-regulated plans, not self-funded employer plans.
Card terms recorded October 19, 2026. Lilly's 2026 cards state "Card expires and savings end on 12/31/2026," so 2027 terms may differ.
Three reasons your GLP-1 copay suddenly went up
1. Your card reached its annual or monthly cap
Savings cards are not unlimited. Here are the 2026 limits for patients whose commercial plan covers the drug:
| Card (covered patients, 2026 terms) | You pay as little as | Monthly savings cap | Annual savings cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zepbound single-dose pen | $25 | $100 per 1-month fill ($300 per 3-month fill) | $1,300 per calendar year; up to 13 fills |
| Mounjaro single-dose pen | $25 | $150 per 1-month fill ($450 per 3-month fill) | $1,950 per calendar year; up to 13 fills |
| Wegovy | $25 | $100 per month | Not stated on offer page |
| Ozempic | $25 | $100 per month | Not stated on offer page |
Source: Zepbound card terms; Mounjaro savings; NovoCare, Wegovy; NovoCare, Ozempic. Checked October 19, 2026.
The monthly cap matters too. If your share of a fill is larger than the cap (common in a deductible phase), you pay the difference even in month one. Lilly also says monthly and annual maximums are set at its "sole and absolute discretion."
2. Your plan uses a copay accumulator
Under an accumulator, an insurer "does not count a manufacturer's copay support" toward your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum (Goodwin). The card still pays the pharmacy, so early in the year things look fine. The problem shows up when the card's annual maximum is used up: your deductible has barely moved, because only the dollars you paid yourself were credited.
3. Your plan uses a maximizer or another "alternate funding" design
Plans and benefit vendors use several names for designs that set your cost share based on the manufacturer help available, including "copay maximizer." The details differ by plan, so the plan's own documents are the only reliable description of how yours works. Lilly's card terms cover this group under the label "alternate funding programs," defined as programs where "coverage, reimbursement, or patient out of pocket costs for a product in some way vary based on the availability of a manufacturer co-pay program." If your plan requires you to use such a program, Lilly says you are "not eligible for and are prohibited from using" its card, and you must tell Lilly if you join one (Zepbound terms; Mounjaro terms). Lilly also says it may reduce savings if a plan does not apply card payments toward your copay, deductible or coinsurance.
How much an accumulator can cost you
The math is simpler than it looks. An accumulator moves your deductible and out-of-pocket progress back by whatever the card paid. With a 2026 Zepbound pen card, that is at most $1,300 in a calendar year; with Mounjaro, at most $1,950. The worked example below uses a hypothetical plan to show the pattern.
| Hypothetical: $2,000 drug deductible, card paid $1,300 by midyear, you paid $300 | No accumulator | With accumulator |
|---|---|---|
| Credited toward your deductible | $1,600 ($1,300 card + $300 you) | $300 (you only) |
| Deductible still owed when the card runs out | $400 | $1,700 |
| Difference you may pay later in the year | Up to $1,300, the amount the card paid | |
Illustrative only. Plan amounts are hypothetical; card cap from Lilly's 2026 Zepbound terms.
If you are on a high-deductible plan with an HSA, there is one more wrinkle. Benefits lawyers have noted that if manufacturer help counts toward an out-of-pocket maximum before the deductible is met, it can create HSA eligibility problems, which is one reason some HDHPs exclude card payments (Ballard Spahr).
Card running out before the year does?
Compare current self-pay prices so you know your fallback if your plan's cost share becomes unaffordable.
Paid links. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we write. See all options. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved.
What federal rules say right now
The federal rules have changed several times. A 2020 rule allowed plans to exclude manufacturer assistance from the out-of-pocket maximum only for brand drugs with an available generic equivalent. A 2021 rule let plans decide for themselves. On September 29, 2023, the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia vacated the 2021 provision in HIV and Hepatitis Policy Institute v. HHS, finding it arbitrary and capricious (Goodwin; HIV+Hepatitis Policy Institute).
HHS dropped its appeal on January 16, 2024. It had told the court it intended to write a new rule and to "exercise enforcement discretion pending the issuance of a final new rule" (Bass, Berry & Sims). In plain terms, the 2020 rule is the one on the books, but federal enforcement has been relaxed while HHS decides what to do. Do not count on federal enforcement to protect you; read your plan's terms.
State accumulator laws, and their big limit
State laws requiring copay assistance to count toward cost sharing have spread. Avalere counted 19 states plus Puerto Rico in mid-2023 (Avalere), and the list has grown since. In January 2026, the All Copays Count coalition, an advocacy group, said New Jersey had become the 26th state with such a law (coalition release via WisPolitics). That is an advocacy count, not an official tally, so check your own state insurance department for the current rule.
The limit: Avalere notes that these laws apply to state-regulated health plans, and its count of protected people excludes ERISA-covered lives. Many large employers self-fund their plans, and state insurance laws generally do not reach those plans. Laws also vary in scope, for example in which plans and drugs they cover.
How to spot accumulator or maximizer language during open enrollment
The wording is rarely obvious. Look in the pharmacy section of your SBC, the plan's specialty pharmacy rules, and any "drug cost assistance" or "copay program" notice for phrases like these:
- "Manufacturer assistance will not apply toward your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum."
- "Copay adjustment program," "accumulator adjustment," or "variable copay program."
- A requirement to enroll with a third-party vendor to get a specialty drug at a $0 or reduced copay.
Questions to ask your plan
- Do manufacturer copay card payments for my GLP-1 count toward my 2027 deductible and out-of-pocket maximum?
- Does the plan use a copay maximizer or alternate funding program for my drug, and is enrollment required?
- Is the plan fully insured or self-funded, and does a state copay assistance law apply?
- What will my cost share be once the card's annual maximum is used up?
What to do
- Add up your card's payments so far this year from pharmacy receipts or the card portal, and compare against the annual cap.
- Check your plan's claims portal to see how much has been credited to your deductible. If it is far less than what was paid at the counter, an accumulator is likely.
- Ask the plan the questions above in writing, and save the answers.
- During open enrollment, compare plan options on whether card payments count, not just on the copay amount.
- If you are in a program Lilly calls an alternate funding program, call the card program before your next fill to confirm eligibility.
- Recheck the manufacturer's 2027 card terms in January, since 2026 cards state they end December 31, 2026.
Compare care options before choosing a program
If your plan's cost share stops being workable, compare current self-pay options as a fallback.
Paid links. We may earn a commission; it never changes what we write. See all options. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved.
Frequently asked questions
What is a copay accumulator?
It is a plan design where manufacturer copay card payments go to the pharmacy but are not counted toward your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum. When the card's annual maximum runs out, you may still owe most of your deductible.
Why did my Zepbound or Mounjaro copay go up mid-year?
Often because the card hit its annual cap. Lilly's 2026 terms cap covered-patient savings at $1,300 per calendar year for the Zepbound pen card and $1,950 for Mounjaro. An accumulator or maximizer program in your plan can also be the cause.
Can I use a Lilly savings card if my plan has a maximizer program?
Lilly's terms say patients whose plans require an alternate funding program, meaning coverage or out-of-pocket costs vary based on the availability of a manufacturer co-pay program, are not eligible for and are prohibited from using the card.
Are copay accumulators legal?
A federal court vacated the 2021 federal rule that let plans decide whether to count copay assistance, and HHS said it would use enforcement discretion pending a new rule. About two dozen states restrict accumulators for state-regulated plans, but those laws generally do not reach self-funded employer plans.
Sources
- Eli Lilly: Zepbound Savings Card Terms and Conditions
- Eli Lilly: Mounjaro Savings Resources
- NovoCare: Wegovy Savings Offer
- NovoCare: Ozempic Savings Offer
- Goodwin: Federal Court Strikes Down Copay Accumulator Programs (Oct. 2023)
- HIV+Hepatitis Policy Institute: Court Strikes Down HHS Rule
- Bass, Berry & Sims: CMS/HHS Withdraw Appeal
- Ballard Spahr: Copay Accumulator Programs Called Into Question
- Avalere: State Copay Accumulator Bans Will Affect 19% of US Commercial Lives
- WisPolitics: New Jersey Bans Copay Accumulators (Jan. 2026)
Medical disclaimer: This article is general information, not medical advice, and does not replace a licensed clinician who knows your history. Approvals, labels, coverage and prices change; check the linked sources and talk with your prescriber or pharmacist before making decisions about any medication.